College of Nursing faculty members recognized with Nightingale Awards for Nursing Excellence

Wayne State College of Nursing Assistant Clinical Professors Cynthera McNeill, DNP, APRN, AGPCNP-C, FAANP, and Tara Walker, DNP, APRN, ACNP-BC, are among a select group of outstanding Michigan nurses to receive a 2024 Nightingale Award for Nursing Excellence from the Oakland University School of Nursing.

The awards honor dedicated nurses throughout the state across 10 different categories. Awardees are nominated by their peers and supervisors, recognized as exceptional in their nursing roles in both clinical and nonclinical settings.

Dr. McNeill received the Nightingale Award for Excellence in Nursing Research, and Dr. Walker received the Award for Excellence in Community Nursing. They are the first Wayne State University College of Nursing faculty members to receive Nightingale Awards.

The awards were presented during a ceremony on Wednesday, May 8, on Oakland University’s main campus in Rochester Hills, Michigan. Award winners receive a check for $1,000, a solid bronze statue of Florence Nightingale and a Nightingale pin.

← Back to listing