$1 million HRSA grant supports collaborative project to enhance community-focused behavioral health education and practice

The United States Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) has awarded a $1,060,000 grant to faculty members from the Wayne State University College of Nursing and School of Social Work to support the project “Wayne State University Community-focused Interdisciplinary Trauma-Informed Youth Collaborative (CITY-C) to Address Behavioral Health Disorders among Children, Adolescents and Transitional-Age Youth.”


Led by Principal Investigator and Assistant Professor (Cinical) Umeika Stephens DNP, PMHNP-BC, FNP-BC, from the College of Nursing and co-investigator Anwar Najor-Durack, PhD, MSW, assistant professor and assistant dean for student affairs at the School of Social Work, the project aims to develop and enhance the behavioral health workforce while advancing nursing, social work and clinical practice through the provision of culturally competent, enhanced interprofessional education with an emphasis on children, adolescents and transitional-age youth at risk for developing, or who have developed a recognized behavioral health disorder, in the community setting.

The funding will also support the training of 36 master’s level graduate students from the College of Nursing and School of Social Work, along with a minimum of 110 community-based health care professionals in interprofessional didactic training courses in addition to 60 clinical supervisors, preceptors and faculty in Activating Clinical Excellence in Supervision (ACE*S) workshops.

The HRSA grant builds upon a longstanding training and workforce development collaboration between the College of Nursing and School of Social Work, continuing a successful partnership between Stephens and Najor-Durack.

"This incredibly important, interdisciplinary work will have a distinct impact on the individuals, families and communities we serve," said College of Nursing Dean Laurie Lauzon Clabo, PhD, RN, FAAN. "Congratulations to Dr. Stephens, Dr. Najor-Durack and the team supporting this project."

Faculty spotlight

← Back to listing