Highly distinguished WSU nurse leaders to be named Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing

Two Wayne State University College of Nursing faculty were recently selected by the American Academy of Nursing (AAN) to be inducted as Fellows of the Academy. These highly distinguished nurse leaders, Dean Laurie M. Lauzon Clabo, PhD, RN and Professor Maher El-Masri, PhD, RN will be honored at a ceremony held during the AAN annual policy conference October 24-26, 2019 in Washington, D.C.

“Membership into the academy is one of the highest professional honors. We celebrate both Dean Clabo’s and Dr. El-Masri’s exceptional careers and this recognition of their contribution to nursing policy, science, education and the workplace,” said Keith Whitefield, PhD, Provost of Wayne State University.

Fellow selection criteria included evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care, and sponsorship by two current Academy fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee's nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and well-being of all.

“I am proud to welcome this incredible class of leaders to the American Academy of Nursing," said Academy President Karen Cox, PhD, RN, FACHE, FAAN. "Their amazing accomplishments have changed health and health care across the country and around the globe. I look forward to celebrating the new fellows at our 2019 policy conference and working with them in the future so that our collective knowledge can impact and influence health policy." 

The Academy fellows, with the addition of this newest class, represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and 29 countries. The Academy is currently comprised of more than 2,500 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research. Academy fellows include hospital and government administrators, college deans, and renowned scientific researchers.

Dean Clabo and Dr. El-Masri’s induction will bring the total number of current Wayne State University College of Nursing faculty members who are also Fellows of the Academy to six. Current WSU nursing faculty members who are also Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing are: Drs. Rosalind Peters, Barbara Pieper, April Hazard Vallerand and Deborah Walker.

About the 2019 Wayne State University College of Nursing Inductees

Dr. Lauzon Clabo is Dean and Professor of the Wayne State College of Nursing. Dean Clabo is being recognized for her leadership of two national policy initiatives.  In 2013, she led the work of the AACN Clinical Training Task Force to re- envision APRN education with a focus on advancing new strategies and models to address current and evolving healthcare needs.  Subsequently, engaging representatives from over 26 diverse APRN nursing organizations, Dean Clabo led the landmark development of common practice competencies for advanced practice nursing.  Her impact is described as “transformational” and represents a significant milestone in academic nursing’s transition to competency-based education.   Dean Clabo is an alumnus of the Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellows Program and the Wharton Executive Leadership Program. She has served in a variety of leadership roles in professional organizations, including terms as president of both the Massachusetts Association of Colleges of Nursing and the Michigan Association of Colleges of Nursing. 

Dr. El-Masri is a professor in the Wayne State College of Nursing. He is an internationally recognized nursing scholar in academia, research, and policy for safe practice. Dr. El-Masri is a prolific author, and his research has had a significant impact on policy-making and nursing practice internationally. El-Masri’s research focuses on the prevention and self-management of cancer and lifestyle-related chronic illnesses with a special focus on ethnocultural and socioeconomic disparities. His research is positioned to address the unique needs of diverse populations in an urban setting. El-Masri is a sought-after nurse leader and research mentor whose work has been described as a “model of the mission of the AAN” due to its impact on health policy and practice. He has an extensive experience in teaching clinical epidemiology, quantitative research methods and biostatistics for nursing and clinical health research. El-Masri is also the Editor-in-Chief of the Canadian Journal of Nursing Research.

About the American Academy of Nursing

The American Academy of Nursing serves the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge.

View the complete American Academy of Nursing 2019 Class of New Fellows.

← Back to listing